Morning Glory, Stir-fried

I haven’t met a Southeast Asian person who does not love a good morning glory stir-fried. It’s that good.

I love it all, I love the Indonesian/Malaysian version where they put dried shrimp paste in it, and of course I love the Thai version which is hotter, more garlicky, and lighter.

This recipe is for the Thai version.

morningglory2

Serves 2 (as a side dish)

What you need:

  • 1 bunch morning glory (200 – 300 g), cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 red chillis
  • 1 teaspoon oil (traditionally we use more oil, but I’m trying to eat healthy these days)
  • 1 teaspoon Thai soy bean paste (I use healthy boy brand)
  • 1 Tablespoon oyster sauce (I use Maekrua brand)
  • Pinch of sugar

How to put this together:

  • Pound together garlic + red chillies, using mortar & pestle
  • Put morning glory in a large bowl. Top this with garlic + chillies + soy bean paste + oyster sauce
  • Heat oil in a pan until it’s very hot. You should see smoke rising from the pan
  • Put morning glory & seasoning in the hot pan. Be careful of flames from splashed hot oil.
  • Stir-fry very quickly, about 10-15 seconds
  • Serve immediately
One thought on “Morning Glory, Stir-fried

  1. Pingback: Satay House, Paddington | Operation: Good Food

Comments are closed.