How to cook rice, without rice cooker

We are rice eaters.

We eat rice on a very regular basis, I’d say we eat rice 5 days out of 7.

If I had a bad day, I want to eat rice. If I feel under the weather, I want to eat rice. If my previous meal was a non-rice meal, I want rice in the next meal.

Imagine my mum’s surprise when she visited and we told her we no longer use our rice cooker. She was skeptical at first, but was very impressed (and, dare I say, got hooked) with the idea of cooking rice this way.

For us, we cook rice this way for 2 main reasons:

  1. Normal rice cooker is great if you’re cooking rice for a big family (5-10 cups). When you cook a cup of rice for 2 people, a lot of the rice just get stuck to the bottom of the cooker, and you end up with a lot of sticky / crispy rice (and a lot of waste!)
  2. Rice cooker takes up quite a bit of kitchen bench space. Living in London means limited space. Being able to get rid of an appliance on your precious kitchen worktop is most excellent.

rice

Serves: 2

What you need:

  • 1 cup rice
  • For Thai jasmine rice, you’ll need 1.2 cups water
  • For Basmati rice, you’ll need 1.5 cups water

How to put this together:

  • Wash the rice
  • Put rice + water in a pot. Bring to boil on high heat
  • When the water start to boil, put the lid on, and turn down to low heat
  • Cook, with lid on, for 8 mins
  • Turn off the heat. Do NOT open the lid. Leave it sitting there with the remaining steam for 15 mins
  • Fluff the rice to loosen up the grains
  • Serve
